Scheme Overview

Three progressive levels:

Bronze (Year 10)

Silver (End of Year 10 and Year 11) and

Gold (Years 12 & 13)

What does a D of E programme consist of?

Volunteering (helping other people in the local community)

Skills (covering almost any hobby, skill or interest)

Physical (sport, dance and fitness)

Expedition (training for, planning and completing a journey on foot)

Residential (Gold only – 5 day residential taking part in an activity, course or service)

The Principles

You should identify the voluntary service required, gain some knowledge of the needs of those whom you are assisting and then receive briefing and training in the skills required to give that service. The value of participation in the Volunteering section comes from training, giving practical service and appreciating the needs of the community.