KS5 Celebration Evening 2015

KS5 Award Winners 2015

An intimate evening at the Carnmarth Hotel on 14th December 2015 welcomed last years Newquay Tretherras Sixth Form students back. Along with their families and friends, the now University Students attended the school’s annual KS5 celebration ceremony.

The evening was an opportunity to note student achievements, collect their qualification certificates and be presented with awards for subject-specific achievements.

Mr James Hammersley, Director of 14 – 19 Learning at Newquay Tretherras, opened the evening by speaking of the year groups phenomenal academic achievements and the many individual contributions the Sixth Formers gave to the ethos of the school.

Mr Hammersley commented; ‘Results were amazing from a tremendous group of students. 50% of Tretherras Sixth Form students achieved A* to B grades, and 76% gained Distinction* Grades. Everyone passed all their courses, making you the Best Sixth Form in Cornwall as well as placing you in the top 25% in the country. Tonight is a celebration of that fact.’

Talking about the ethos of the Sixth Form, Mr Hammersley added; We want people to leave the Sixth Form with the ability to do anything, we wanted you have achieved that and I hope you continue to make that happen. It is safe to say we are very proud of what you have achieved and wish you all the best in the future.’

Mr Andy Booth, Lead Co-ordinator at Newquay Tretherras Sixth Form continued proceedings by giving a speech about the unique personalities in the year group as well as highlighting the accolades and determination students showed in their chosen academic subjects.

Mr Booth spoke of each student’s accomplishments before Former Head of Year Mr Steve Searle presented them their certificates and prizes.

This year subject winners were as follows;
Fraser Hosie – Science Award
David Killingbeck – Technology Award
Dan Hawkey – Maths Award
Jordan Edgecombe – Business Studies Award
Anna Cubbedu – History Award
Alex Rowland – Geography Award
Blaise Caldaralo – Modern Language Award
Georgia Michell – won both the Media and English Award
Sophie Rooney – Travel and Tourism Award
Lee Perry – Music Award
Kara Jamison – Health and Social Award
Jonathan Edmunds – ICT Award
Alice Crampton – Sociology Award
Amy Chapple – Psychology Award
Ryan Greendale – Theatre Studies
Jon Moran – won the Lynne Robertson Award for Art.


The Sporting Excellence Award this year went to three students who demonstrated outstanding commitment and gave excellent contributions to both their academic studies and Post 16 sports programmes. The winners were Rosie Hogg, James Prieto East and Callum Faulkner.

Matt Banks, represented by his mother, won the Hamish Cameron Award for Duke of Edinburgh. Jonathan Edmunds won the Greatest progress Award, whilst Fraiser Hoise won Best A Level results.

Greatest Contribution to Life in Sixth Form was awarded to Zennor Robinson

Executive Headteacher of Newquay Education Trust, Mrs Sue Martin presented Head Boy Matt Banks a commemorative plaque, collected by his mother, and Head Girl Poppy Wring a plaque, though she was unable to attend the evening.

Mr Booth closed the evening by thanking all the families for their support, the Sixth Form team of tutors for the hard work, the students for the phenomenal achievements and wishing everyone a Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>