KS4 Celebration Evening 2017

Lucy Pratt, Eve Furniss and Hannah Robinson Greatest Contribution To The Life Of The School 2017
Newquay Tretherras students along with their families attended the KS4 Celebration Evening at the Hotel Bristol on 29th November 2017.
With standing room only, families packed in to proudly watch the 2017 Leavers collect their GCSE certificates and prizes for outstanding achievements over their five-year period at the school.
Headteacher Mrs Fairbairn, welcomed everyone to the celebration event by commenting, ‘It takes a community to educate a child and tonight’s gathering is testament to that.’
Head Boy Harry Bowen and Head Girl Rachel Millington opened the evening’s celebration in front of Directors from Newquay Education Trust (NET) and other VIPs guests.
Head of Year Ms Sue Ollerenshaw, shared in the precious memories of the Class of 2017, who had a theme tune for each year to recall all of their times together.
NET CEO, Mrs Sarah Karkeek presented the awards. This year Ella Thomas won the Best KS4 Results, whilst Wiktoria Okla won the Most Academic Progress in KS4. The Peter Cocks Award for Science & Technology was awarded to Ella Thomas and Ellie Barlow won the Greatest Contribution to Performing Arts. This year the Sports award was shared by Joe Greaves & Elowan Penfold. Lucy Pratt, Eve Furniss and Hannah Robinson won the Greatest Contribution To The Life Of The School 2017 and was presented to the students by Ms Ollerenshaw. The Steve Pace Awarded for determination and resilience was won by Freya Atkins and presented to her by Steve Paces’ sister Mrs Cherry Frawley.
Mrs Karkeek closed the evening by thanking students, staff and parents for all their hard work and support in making this a very successful group of students and although a little early wished everyone a Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>